OK, not really, but Google Gaffe is a great product name. However, Google is releasing a feature that will help you out when you send that email with that unintentional but horribly offensive typo. Or if you send that very personal email to your parents or boss by mistake.
After being in beta for SIX years, Google is now including the option to unsend an email. Sort of. How it works is that it will delay sending your email anywhere from 5 to 30 seconds. So if you look over your sent email anywhere during the delay period, you can stop it before it goes out basically. Once it’s gone though, it’s gone, there’s still no taking it back. This feature was previously announced for the Inbox by Gmail mobile app but is now coming to Gmail for the web.
Personally, I think this will be a useful feature for those of you that fire off emails quickly. Keep in mind that it’s only a 5-30 second delay.
If you are interested in this feature, you’ll have to turn it on under the General tab in Gmail settings: