Marvel Announces Cast for Captain America: Civil War


Holy cow, it truly is the Golden Age of Comic Book Movies.

This week, Marvel announced details for their next blockbuster in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), Captain America: Civil War. The plot of the movie follows the “Civil War” storyline from 2006-2007 where the US government enacts a Superhero Registration Act (similar to the Mutant Registration Act from the classic X-Men “Days of Future Past” storyline). Under this act enhanced beings are required to be under official regulation as opposed to operating outside the law. The act is extremely divisive leading to violently opposed factions, with battle lines drawn through existing teams and allies. It’s an epic story based on the sometimes opposed concepts of personal liberty and civil and moral responsibility, echoed in many other comics and one of the key elements of Superman (I know, Superman is NOT a part of the Marvel Universe).

While the story is great, the big news is that (almost) everyone in the MCU has been cast in this movie. That means you get:

Captain Rogers (Chris Evans)
Tony Stark/Iron Man (RDJ)
Black Widow (ScarJo)
The Vision (Paul Bettany)
Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan)
Falcon (Anthony Mackie)
Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner)
Jim Rhodes/War Machine (Don Cheadle)
Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen)
Ant-Man (Paul Rudd)
T’Challa/Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman)
Sharon Carter/Agent 13 (Emily VanCamp)
General Ross (William Hurt)

The notable exceptions are The Hulk, which seems a likely addition since his notable rival General Ross has been announced, and the recently re-acquired Spider-Man (purchased back from Sony Pictures), who has a pivotal role in the original comic storyline.

No spoilers, but this storyline most likely points to Chris Evans’ eventual exit as everyone’s favorite shield-toting hero. Evans has indicated he’s ready to focus on directing and his current contract is limited to six movies, which will take him through the next Avengers movie (Avengers: Infinity War). Likely his pal Bucky Barnes will don the star-spangled uniform next, as happened in the comics and actor Sebastian Stan has a nine movie contract with Marvel.

Marvel Announces Cast for Captain America: Civil War

Speaking of the next Avengers movie, Marvel announced that the two-part Avengers: Infinity War will be shot in their entirety on the new IMAX/ARRI 2D camera making it the first Hollywood feature to be shot on the new digital system. Don’t hold your breath though, Part 1 isn’t due until May 2018 with Part 2 opening the following year.

Last year, Marvel announced the full slate of MCU movies through 2019.

In contrast, DC Comics has struggled (IMHO) with big screen adaptations and has not come up with a cohesive universe for their cinematic projects, like Marvel has done. In my opinion, this lack of planning has and will continue to result in movies of varying quality levels and no build-up to future releases. We’ll see how Dawn of Justice (Batman v Superman) does, as well as the subsequent Justice League movie.